//
you're reading...
Дискусии (Topics for Discussion), Ръкописи (Manuscripts), The relevance of the humanities

Appealing to a wider audience or the relevance of what we do

As some of my friends well know, for a while now I have been pestering them with questions such as “why do you think what we do, e.g. teaching Byzantine studies, is relevant?” and other forms of the “why should we care?” question. I have been thinking about it for a long time and I have to admit I still haven’t found a satisfying answer. Certainly, many others are asking the same and writing about it. A piece I read recently and found most relevant and honest was Curtis Dozier’s How I became a public intellectual and why you should too published on the blog of the Society for Classical Studies. Another example I wanted to share is this inspirational (at least for me) interview with the medieval book historian Erik Kwakkel (Leiden University) whose effort to employ the possibilities social media offers in order to familiarize a wider audience with the curiosities of medieval book culture is, to my mind, a very pertinent example to the ways in which we could transform and adapt our teaching methods.

And as my thinking continues, I am also looking out for any opinions and ideas you might have.

D.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Криейтив Комънс договор
This произведение is licensed under a Creative Commons Признание 2.5 България License.
Follow 7artesliberales on WordPress.com
